Page 1 of 2

Help wanted crashing win32 client

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 9:49 pm
by Use_less
I can't crash the win32 client on my machine, and so if you can consistently make the client crash, I'd like you to get some drmingw debug output for me.

1. Grab this version of freeciv which I've compiled myself with full debug symbols:

[url=ftp://ftp.freeciv.org/freeciv/incoming/freeciv-debugsymbols-20040810.zip]ftp://ftp.freeciv.org/freeciv/incoming/freeciv-debugsymbols-20040810.zip[/url]

(I sure hope I included all the required dlls. [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img] )

2. Grab mingw-utils from [url=http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=2435&package_id=82721&release_id=158859]http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=2435&package_id=82721&release_id=158859[/url] and install drmingw by typing "drmingw -i" from the command line.

3. Run the full debug symbols version of freeciv until it crashes and runs drmingw.

4. Copy the resulting drmingw input and either post it here or send it to me.

Help wanted crashing win32 client

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 3:13 am
by WizardRahl
I ran it for 30 mins with 6 AI and no crashes... anyway I think the more pressing problem is how the UI sucks compared to the GTK version [img]images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

Help wanted crashing win32 client

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 3:39 am
by AtmaWeapon
Yeah, I agree. The UI is pretty bad compared to the GTK2 one.

I found a strange bug in the windows native unstable version.
Nothing happened when I tried the Connect with Road and Connect with Irrigation orders on workers (Shift+Ctrl+I and Shift+Ctrl+R).
It didn't work when I clicked my way into "Orders" either.

Help wanted crashing win32 client

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:03 am
by Highlander
I guess this method is kind of outdated, since the Crash.RPT of beta6 gives the same result.

Anyway, I ran it till it get the same weird close buttons that are labeled with "0" instead of "close" in the city dialog, and some city dialogs resize screen high. It seems to happen after I start clicking on where the people in the ciyt work when removing some from a tile. Quite similar to what I saw with 2.0.0-beta6. Guess i should try beta7 [img]images/smiles/icon_wink.gif[/img]

[b]Quote:[/b]
CIVCLIENT.EXE caused an Access Violation at location bfb9ba02 in module COMCTL32.DLL Reading from location 44f70008.

Registers:
eax=00000009 ebx=00000000 ecx=ce7d4e20 edx=0001db04 esi=00b0aeec edi=44f70000
eip=bfb9ba02 esp=00e1f5bc ebp=00e1f6cc iopl=0 nv up ei pl nz na po nc
cs=015f ss=0167 ds=0167 es=0167 fs=5197 gs=1a4f efl=00010206

Call stack:
BFB9BA02 COMCTL32.DLL:BFB9BA02 ImageList_GetIconSize
BFF7363B KERNEL32.DLL:BFF7363B EnumSystemCodePagesW
BFF942E7 KERNEL32.DLL:BFF942E7 CopyFileExW
0000873E[/quote]

Help wanted crashing win32 client

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:01 am
by Highlander
I noticed something in the server files, too that run the above client:
[b]Quote:[/b]
Game saved as civgame+1200.sav.gz
>
Game saved as civgame+1300.sav.gz
>
Player 'Valtunk' now has AI skill level 'normal'.
> Assertion failed: punit->transported_by > 0, file aiferry.c, line 453[/quote]

Help wanted crashing win32 client

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 8:23 am
by vladimir_sm
[quote="Highlander"]I guess this method is kind of outdated, since the Crash.RPT of beta6 gives the same result. [/quote]

Is this means that I can contribute to the freeciv win client bug eradication playing the beta 7 and then posting the contents of crash.rpt file??

I always play the largest possible map and somehow manage to crash the win32 client every time. Its really frustrating, I never finished the single player largest map game without a sudden end usually the client just exits without stopping the server that instantly replaces me with the ai player and the game continues without me.

Help wanted crashing win32 client

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 2:18 pm
by Per
[quote="vladimir_sm"]Is this means that I can contribute to the freeciv win client bug eradication playing the beta 7 and then posting the contents of crash.rpt file??[/quote]

Yes, please! Post it to [url=mailto:bugs@freeciv.org]bugs@freeciv.org[/url] and we'll see what we can do. Please also describe as much as possible how you managed to produce the bug.

Help wanted crashing win32 client

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 8:11 am
by Jason Short
[quote="vladimir_sm"]
I always play the largest possible map and somehow manage to crash the win32 client every time. Its really frustrating, I never finished the single player largest map game without a sudden end usually the client just exits without stopping the server that instantly replaces me with the ai player and the game continues without me.[/quote]

Set saveturns to 1 to auto-save every turn. Then a crash won't be so bad.

We've gotten a lot of reports of crashes on Windows lately. But the bug reports we're getting aren't good enough to be able to fix them. This isn't really the fault of the reporters...sometimes even if you give a savegame and instructions on how to reproduce the bug (which is the best kind of bug report) if the bug doesn't happen when the developers run the game then it doesn't help.

Help wanted crashing win32 client

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:13 am
by Guest
In fact, the win32 client (not gtk) version 2.0.0 crashes every time a new advance in technology is achieved. Then I load the client again and connect to the server and resume playing...
There is no need to set autosave because the server doesnt crash at all.
I run Windows ME and I am not buying Windows XP.

Help wanted crashing win32 client

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 5:41 am
by Highlander
Yes, the science dialog is particularly good at triggering the bug ..
It is one of the dialogs with "0" buttons, but these will turn up everywhere.

Client load is very high.
Is it possible that the lists in the science dialog maybe are built up incrementally, triggering an update in the windows widget, and thus, being sqr(O), exhaust a resource leak in the windows98 API? Other programs running at the same time using user32 will also show problems.

My other idea is that something must have happened between 1.14.1 and 1.14.2, because i noticed a similar problem with my version of 1.14.2.

However it is happening pretty quickly - while civclient itself didn't show a problem right now, and no new science dialog popped up(just one in the past), a different application already had a problem with comctl32.dll.

Ah, I notice that the news dialog has a zero '0' title by now ..

The only other stuff happening are flickering of taxmen, one or two city dialogs, and of course the map view.