Accounts e-mail HP

Can i run freeciv after build with no 'make install'?

You can get help here for any kind of problem ranging from Freeciv to the website.

Can i run freeciv after build with no 'make install'?

Postby chomwitt » Fri Jan 18, 2013 5:21 pm

/freeciv/client/freeciv-gtk2
1: Invalid NULL default string for option default_tileset_name.
1: in option_str_set() [options.c::752]: assertion '((void *)0) != str' failed.
1: Please report this message at http://gna.org/projects/freeciv/
0: No usable default tileset found, aborting!
chomwitt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Can i run freeciv after build with no 'make install'?

Postby Davide » Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:05 pm

It might technically be possible, but it's not supposed to be so.
If you're worried about maintaining freeciv restricted in the same directory where you have its source, I would do:
Code: Select all
./configure --prefix=/path-to-sources-dir/build
make & make install

This way you can keep all the freeciv files in one single place. Remember to create the build directory.
User avatar
Davide
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:34 am

Re: Can i run freeciv after build with no 'make install'?

Postby chomwitt » Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:52 pm

cd ~/freeciv/freecivbuild/bin
$ ./freeciv-gtk2
1: Invalid NULL default string for option default_tileset_name.
1: in option_str_set() [options.c::752]: assertion '((void *)0) != str' failed.
1: Please report this message at http://gna.org/projects/freeciv/
0: No usable default tileset found, aborting!

$ ./freeciv-server
This is the server for Freeciv version 2.4.99-dev
You can learn a lot about Freeciv at http://www.freeciv.org/
2: Loading rulesets.
0: "/usr/local/share/freeciv/default/techs.ruleset": ruleset datafile appears incompatible:
0: datafile options: +Freeciv-2.3-ruleset
0: supported options: +Freeciv-ruleset-Devel-2012.Feb.28
0: Capability problem
chomwitt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Can i run freeciv after build with no 'make install'?

Postby Davide » Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:04 pm

It seems to me that you're using freeciv 2.4 with data files meant for freeciv 2.3.
If you're using freeciv 2.4, consider that it is still a beta and, concisely, it does not work. (recently, a 2.3.4 release has been scheduled for before 2.4.0, meaning that 2.4 is still far from perfection.)
You can report specific bugs at https://gna.org/bugs/?group=freeciv
User avatar
Davide
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:34 am

Re: Can i run freeciv after build with no 'make install'?

Postby chomwitt » Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:18 pm

i've downloaded freeciv src HEAD for some l10n work.

I've also found that related bug report: http://gna.org/bugs/?20114
chomwitt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Can i run freeciv after build with no 'make install'?

Postby O01eg » Sat Jan 19, 2013 8:05 am

chomwitt wrote:i've downloaded freeciv src HEAD for some l10n work.


You have to translate each branch separatly.
O01eg
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:24 pm


Return to General tech support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron