Accounts e-mail HP

CityMinDistance

a Voyage in men's Utopia

CityMinDistance

Postby monamipierrot » Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:35 am

Someone can tell me which is the CityMinDistance setting?
monamipierrot
Co-Admin of GT01, GT10-Hex.
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Re: CityMinDistance

Postby Davide » Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:46 am

Nope :P
User avatar
Davide
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:34 am

Re: CityMinDistance

Postby Major Nimrod » Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:03 pm

Min dist 3 only works well if we have an absolutely massive scale map. Otherwise, best to keep it at default 2.
"Big Brother is watching you" - George Orwell
"Shh! I'm Hunting Wabbits" - Elmer Fudd
"What a Nimrod" - Bugs Bunny

NIMMY
User avatar
Major Nimrod
Contributor & Co-Admin
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 5:24 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: CityMinDistance

Postby Davide » Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:34 pm

Major Nimrod wrote:Min dist 3 only works well if we have an absolutely massive scale map. Otherwise, best to keep it at default 2.

In fact it is currently set to 2, so to avoid the need for a scaled-up map.
User avatar
Davide
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:34 am

Re: CityMinDistance

Postby monamipierrot » Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:05 pm

Fine.
Will we do anything to discourage smallpoxing? E.g. increasing settler population cost to 2?
monamipierrot
Co-Admin of GT01, GT10-Hex.
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Re: CityMinDistance

Postby Davide » Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:34 pm

Settler population cost is already 2, as Civ2Civ3 defaults to.

You can see that form the "[unit_settlers]" entry here.
User avatar
Davide
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:34 am

Re: CityMinDistance

Postby monamipierrot » Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:52 pm

:)
monamipierrot
Co-Admin of GT01, GT10-Hex.
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Re: CityMinDistance

Postby Lord P » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:47 pm

From playing CivII-III rules a couple of times, the 2 population settler cost and the different city granary rules means there really is no (economic or growth) incentive to smallpox lots of tiny cities. I would really like to see this arbitrary rule set to zero so that stuff like shipping canals and "magino line" fortifications are possible. But that may unleash some craziness...
Lord P
 

Re: CityMinDistance

Postby Lord P » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:55 pm

oh, and city vision range one square bigger than the worked tiles (or at least giving that vision range to a unit like explorer) makes the game more playable as its harder for enemies to build up out of sight, just within attack range (Unless theres rivers).
Lord P
 

Re: CityMinDistance

Postby monamipierrot » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:56 pm

Lord P wrote:I would really like to see this arbitrary rule set to zero so that stuff like shipping canals and "magino line" fortifications are possible. But that may unleash some craziness...

I was about to say the same: citymindist is an arbitrary rule and I don't like those kind of rules. However, if you really want to build a channel made of cities you should pay a high price for it: that's why I would rather cast a poll to set citymindist=0 AND settlercost=3!
monamipierrot
Co-Admin of GT01, GT10-Hex.
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Next

Return to GT09

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests